MotuekaOnline logo

[ Return ]

Local body election details announced

June 24th, 2010

The next local government and district health board elections will be held on Saturday 9th October, just over three months off now. Elections for all local body authorities throughout New Zealand are held every three years and are conducted by postal vote.

Tasman District Council Election

For the 2010 elections Tasman District Council will be divided into five wards, and require the following positions:
   Golden Bay Ward - two councillors
   Lakes/Murchison Ward one councillor
   Moutere/Waimea Ward - three councillors
   Motueka Ward - three councillors
   Richmond Ward - four councillors
Community Boards
   Motueka Community Board four members
   Golden Bay Community Board four members

Nelson/Marlborough District Health Board Elections 2010

Seven members will be elected at large for the Nelson/Marlborough District Health Board during the 2010 election. This Board covers the Marlborough District, Nelson City and Tasman District Councils.

Electoral System

The First Past the Post (FPP) electoral system will be used for Tasman District Council elections, and the single Transferable Voting (STV) electoral system will be used for the Nelson/Marlborough District Health Board elections.


To vote in a local body election, you need to be enrolled on either the residential or ratepayer roll. You are eligible to enrol on the residential roll if you:
are 18 years of age or older, and
are a New Zealand citizen or permanent resident, and
have lived in New Zealand continuously, at any time, for one year or more, and
have lived at your current address for more than one month.

For more information on how to enrol and how to stand for a position, read the full details from TDC's website here »

>> Email a comment on this article, to be added to the page. [If this link doesn't work, use this form instead]

[ Return ]